Home > Family, Libraries > A Conversation “Casting” Light on a Perception of Librarians

A Conversation “Casting” Light on a Perception of Librarians

May 5, 2010

What do arm casts and librarians have in common? Not much (except maybe an incident involving a bad day and an uncooperative library computer, but that’s another story…). I do know of at least one obscure story that brings the two together. I know because I was personally involved.

One of my tween daughters broke her wrist this past weekend, and now she is sporting one of those colorful casts. Yesterday evening the two of us were in the car on our way to run an errand. I decided I would ask her if I could sign her cast. What follows is our conversation which began with an arm cast and ended up with an insightful perception of librarians.

DAD: Hey, can I sign your cast?

DAUGHTER: Um…OK.

DAD: Can I sign it as “The Librarian Dad”?

DAUGHTER: Uhhh…how about just “The Librarian”?

DAD: That’d be good, too. It’s like Noah Wyle’s character in the “Librarian” movies…[pause]…which is actually what I do anyway when I go to work.”

DAUGHTER: What?

DAD: Yeah, the library is just a front. I actually go into my office every day and disappear through a secret door to go out on adventurous missions all over the world. I can’t really tell you any more than that.

DAUGHTER: [rolls eyes] Well, you go all over the world…but with the internet.

DAD: [Inwardly taken aback and pausing to reflect on the perceptiveness of his daughter’s statement, yet continuing the fantasy conversation] For real. My job is to go out and save the world every day.

DAUGHTER: I know it is, but you do that in the library. You save the world by teaching students how to use information. Then they get smarter and go out and use that in the world.

_____________________

I realized then that my eleven-year-old daughter has a fairly keen perception of what I do as a librarian. Oddly enough, I owe that realization to an arm cast. I’m really going to enjoy signing “The Librarian” when I get home from saving the world today.

(By the way, my daughter’s doing fine. The fracture is not too bad, and she’ll have the cast off in time for the summer.)

Share

Categories: Family, Libraries
  1. May 5, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Yay for you! Glad to hear her wrist isn’t that bad!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
