Home > Personal, Social Networking > Social Exhaustion

Social Exhaustion

April 9, 2010


For some reason, I have been in a social networking slump this week. My typical, regular activity on Facebook, Twitter (including TweetDeck and HootSuite), Delicious, Flickr, Google Reader, this blog, and so on simply hasn’t been there. I have been out of the zone.

Unusual? No. Slumps are a part of life. Just ask any athlete or gamer. Explainable? Sometimes, but not always. There can be times when extraneous circumstances of life can effect your ability to function normally, but sometimes slumps occur for no good reason. Predictable? A resounding ‘no’. They sneak up on you–usually when you least expect it. Vacations or breaks from the regular routine can be re-energizing, beneficial, and even healthy. But vacations are usually planned events. You put it on the calendar and build a countdown widget. I’ve never heard anyone say, “I am so looking forward to my slump next week!”

I guess my biggest concern is the effect that my social networking slump has had on my library’s social connections. As a result of The Slump, I haven’t been doing such a good job of keeping content on the library’s Facebook fan page as fresh at it could be. I haven’t been keeping the library’s Twitter conversations active or monitoring the twittersphere for potential opportunities to help someone. [Andy Burkhardt (Information Tyrannosaur blog) has a great post on how to set up ways to monitor Twitter using Twitter's advanced search to create alerts.]

What about you? Have you experienced a social networking slump? How do you handle it? How did it affect your personal and professional connections? How did you snap out of it?

I think I am coming out of the slump. My most obvious clue is the fact that I decided to write this post. That’s a good sign. So to those who may have noticed my absence from the social cloud this week (Did anyone even notice? LOL), I’m back! And this is a good thing given the fact that next week is both National Library Week and CIL2010–two events that I plan to track and interact with through social media.

Share

  1. April 9, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Glad you liked my post John. I can attest to having these same slumps. I recently haven’t been personally posting as much to Twitter as used to and I look at facebook a fair amount but don’t update my status too regularly.

    Like with everything there is waxing and waning. Meredith Farkas recently had a good blog post (http://meredith.wolfwater.com/wordpress/2010/04/07/coming-to-terms-with-twitter/) about how she’s getting more excited and using Twitter more after previously not caring for it too much. Don’t worry too much about a slump. Maybe it’s just a way for your mind to tell you that it needs a different set of stimuli for a while. You won’t stay in a slump.

    • April 9, 2010 at 5:32 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement, Andy. Yes, I read Meredith Farkas’ excellent post about Twitter yesterday. Now that I think about it, perhaps it was one of the things that subconsciously began bringing me back around.

      Here’s to shaking it off and getting back in the saddle.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

